About

1. Portrait

We’re the Linux & Infrastructure Services (LNI) team at Bern University of Applied Sciences (BFH).

We designed, built and maintain the Science DMZ – a separate but highly integrated infrastructure exclusively for the needs of teaching, research and development (LFE):

When we’re not busy supporting our users, we work continuously on improving to…

We’re interdisciplinary skilled and positive thinking, love feedback (no NIH) and are commited to do things right. We speak Python, insist on open technology for reason (no vendoring) and like anything that can be pushed into a Git repository :)

2. Staff

Daniel Baumann
Daniel Baumann [bad9]

Linux engineer
Teamleader

+41 31 848 48 22
daniel.baumann@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Debian Developer

David Kunz
David Kunz [kud3]

Linux engineer
Teamleader deputy

+41 31 848 48 82
david.kunz@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Debian Contributor

Barin Kaya
Barin Kaya [kab5]

Linux engineer

+41 31 848 68 20
barin.kaya@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Hugo Klein
Hugo Klein [keh3]

Linux engineer

+41 31 848 50 36
hugo.klein@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Jani Heikkinen
Jani Heikkinen [hnj1]

Linux engineer

+41 31 848 68 14
jani.heikkinen@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Jia de Lima
Jia de Lima [dij3]

Network engineer

+41 31 848 40 17
jia.delima@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Joanand Kuharajasekaram
Joanand Kuharajasekaram [krj2]

Linux engineer

+41 31 848 68 11
joanand.kuharajasekaram@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Pascal Bärtschi
Pascal Bärtschi [bcp1]

Field engineer

+41 31 848 53 27
pascal.baertschi@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Sakirnth Nagarasa
Sakirnth Nagarasa [nas3]

Linux engineer

+41 31 848 48 61
sakirnth.nagarasa@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Debian Developer

Simon Spöhel
Simon Spöhel [shs1]

Linux engineer

+41 31 848 48 39
simon.spoehel@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key
Debian Contributor

Urs Grossniklaus
Urs Grossniklaus [gau1]

System engineer

+41 31 848 48 11
urs.grossniklaus@bfh.ch

PGP key SSH key

3. Open positions

We’re currently looking to extend our team:

  • Network engineering

  • Linux engineering

Until application forms are online again in the comming weeks, Daniel is happy to hear from you directly too.

4. Alumni

  • Katharina Drexel, Linux engineer (July 2019 - November 2022)

  • Olaf Baumert, Network engineer (August 2020 - December 2021)